Task management

 Back to all resources

This section covers the following topics:

Task overview

Task is an activity on SignSpace where you assign something to be completed by people or groups.

You may create a task in two different ways:

  • You can start a new space by creating a task. If you would like to start a completely new collaboration around a work item (for instance a reported issue) where only people who need to participate in the solution will have access, start a new space with your task. You can even make a personal space for yourself with personal tasks.
  • You may post a task as a separate activity in an existing space. If you are creating one of the many tasks in one project, it might be more convenient to have all of those tasks in one space. In such case, use a separate activity in an existing space to post one of the many tasks to the project team.

Tasks are created in spaces, and look like this:

None

However for advanced task management purpose, you may choose to work with a Tasks list directly. The top bar holds tabs for switching views between the Home view and the Tasks view.

Top bar with selected Tasks tab

When you switch to the Tasks view, the Tasks list is presented instead of the Home list. The number in the Tasks tab (5 in the example above) indicates how many open tasks are assigned to you and need your action.

The Tasks list shows all the tasks you have access to (except the signing requests which have a separate view) from all the spaces. By clicking on a task, you can easily jump between tasks for your daily task management.

None

Create a new space with a task

To create a task in a new space, click + New button and choose Task.

+ New button with opened options

Fill in the new task form.

Your currently used SignSpace account will be shown in the Account field. If you have more than one account, which allows you to create new spaces, you will be able to choose your account in the Account field. The Task title field will also be used as the space title. The Assignees will have access to the created space and will be invited to complete the task. The Other recipients field lists other users who will be notified about this task and will have access to the created space, but are not assigned this task. You can add a due date to a task. Task description provides space for a more detailed task description and also holds attached files.

None

Since this task will create a new space, the bottom bar of the form contains a link Security settings. These settings will apply to the created space. They are fully editable at any time in the created space, and this is just a quick access to them. Clicking the link will open the following pop-up:

None

Detailed security options are described in the Space security section of the collaboration topic.

While you edit the form, task is not saved as a draft, so if you click X or Discard you will be asked if you agree to discard unsaved changes.

Confirmation to discard unsaved changes for a task form

When you click Send in the task form, a new space will be created, and the task will be posted in it as the first activity.

None

Create a task in an existing space

To create a task as a new activity in an existing space, click the Task link above the bottom reply bar in the space.

None

You will be presented with a task form. Fill in the form and click Send.

New task form for posting in existing space

While you edit the form, task is not saved as a draft, so if you click X or Discard you will be asked if you agree to discard unsaved changes.

Confirmation to discard unsaved changes for a task form

If you click Send in the task form, this task will be posted as a separate activity in the current space.

None

Complete a task

When you are assigned a task, you will receive an email notification. Click the View task button or link in the email to go to SingSpace space where the task is posted:

None

View the full task on SignSpace and once you are done with your assignment, click Complete next to your name.

None

The completed status and date will appear instead of the button.

None

Even if there are more people assigned to the same task, just one person completing the task is enough to change the whole task status to complete.

It is also possible to complete a task for another person by selecting Complete task in the context menu. Any member of the space can do this for any task in that space. The status of the task will change to Complete.

None

A completed task cannot be reopened.

Cancel or reopen a task

Any space member may cancel a task, which is no longer relevant. This option is available in the context menu of the task.

None

When a task is canceled, it is displayed in a minimised form.

None

Any space member may reopen or complete a canceled task. This option is available in the context menu of the task.

None

A completed task cannot be reopened.

View task history

Task history is available in the context menu of the task.

None

It opens in a modal window and lists the key activities related to content or status change of the task.

None

Tasks list

When you open SignSpace you will initially see tasks in the Home view, but for more intensive task management, switch to the Tasks view. Instead of the Home list you will see the Tasks list with all the tasks from different spaces listed as separate items. By clicking on different Tasks list items you can quickly jump between different spaces and focus just on task management. When you click on a task, the details view will open the space where the task is located and scroll you to that task position - your selected task is market by blue border.

None

Signing requests are not listed in the Tasks view as tasks. If you would like to work with signing requests, switch to the Signing view in the top bar.

Top bar with selected Signing tab

Tasks are listed in the order of recency - the most recent at the top. Colors indicate task status:

  • Yellow - assigned to you. The number in the Tasks tab (6 in the example above) indicates how many open tasks are assigned to you in total.
  • Grey - canceled or complete

Color status indicators for tasks

If you are a space owner or organization admin user, access requests are also listed for you as tasks. If you would like to view only access requests, filter them out in the sidebar by selecting Access Requests folder.

Filtering Access Requests in the Tasks list

In the same fashion you can filter out incomplete tasks assigned to you, tasks created by you and so on.

Filtering My incomplete tasks in the Tasks list